Are Oats Gluten-Free ?

 

Oats are known to be the healthiest breakfast eaten all over the world. It contains healthy nutrients which helps in losing weight and also helps in lowering the cholesterol.

There are different variety of Oats available worldwide which are Steel Cut Oats, Rolled Oats, Old Fashion Oats, Quick Oats, Instant Oats, Oatmeal, Oat flakes etc.

Oats has many health benefits like

  • It is high in fiber so it is good for heart and good for the gut
  • Helps in lowering the Cholesterol
  • It has low Glycemic index so it helps in lowering the Blood Glucose level
  • Helps in losing Weight
  • Good for skin
  • Help in Relieving the constipation

But most of the people are confused that the Oats contain gluten or not. If a person is suffering from Gluten intolerance i.e Celiac disease can they have Oats.

Technically Oats are gluten free because they are not the type of any wheat, Barley or Rye which contains Gluten.  The truth is that pure Oats are Gluten free and is safe for the Gluten intolerants. Oats contain gluten only when they are processed in the same facility as Gluten containing grains like Wheat, Barley, Rye.

Oats are grown on the same land and in rotation with Gluten containing crops. Oats when planted together with Wheat, Barley and Rye can get contaminated with gluten. Once Oats are brought to a manufacturing facility for cleaning and packaging, gluten crops might get mixed with them and all gluten containing grain may end up infecting Oats with gluten. Sometimes this also happen that, Oats and Gluten crops are likely to be processed using the same equipment which creates another chance of contamination.

If someone with a known Gluten intolerance wants to buy and eat Gluten free Oats then they should be aware that the product they are buying from market if they are sourced from the provider that guarantee the product they are selling hasn’t been contaminated with Wheat, Barley or Rye. These types of Oats are labeled Certified Gluten free Oats so it’s better to buy those oats since gluten can cause other digestive issues.

It is important that the people who are suffering from Gluten intolerance need to be aware about the Oats Story. They should know that the Oats they are buying whether they are Gluten free or not. Survey found that the consumption of Gluten free Oats is well tolerated among those people who are Suffering from Celiac disease.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s